Tarp Tent Fail

IMG_3152

I found an old catenary cut tarp that I bought back in the 1970s, so, yesterday I took some time to try to rig it up… not once, but twice. Once using an old sectional tentpole to spring it, and once without.

It certainly doesn’t look like it in the pictures, but… Fail! Always check out your gear at home before you leave, Kiddies.

IMG_3163

It went up OK both times, and was at least functional. However, it wasn’t designed for the gullwing/kite configuration I wanted to use. The tie-out points did not line up when the ridgeline was run corner to corner… It was planned for straight A-frame suspension; rectangular, front to back.  No matter what I did, there was always some droop and slackness that was going to flap badly in any kind of real wind.

Still, as I said, it was at least functional. Free, too… ne sait pas ?   The real problem showed up when it got dark and the dew came down. It soaked right through like it was a cotton sheet. Drips beading up on every interior fold, and dripping down. So now I’m left with the conundrum of whether to waste a can of spray Scotchgard on it. I suspect that all I would get was water resistance not waterproofing. I hate getting wet… Any Thoughts?

It looks like they just didn’t make stuff 40 years ago like they made stuff 41 years ago… Nothing lasts,  you just can’t count on stuff anymore.

Onward etc.

Leave a Reply

