Fire Steel

IMG_0464

Having mentioned flint and steel fire making in my earlier post,  I went and rummaged through stuff looking for one I made about 30 years ago. I wore this around my neck on a silver chain for almost 20 years before the attachment ring wore through.

This one is made out of an old square-cut house nail from a historic building I renovated down on Cape Cod. Starting out with the iron/steel that I forged into a circle with a blowtorch, I added decorations in the other historic metals… silver, copper, and bronze. Beautifying things of everyday, ordinary utility is a pleasure and a joy unto itself.

It is a little larger than a US Silver Dollar, and my thumb grips it perfectly against my index finger at the copper wrapping and open end. The striking surface is at around 7-8 o’clock,  just below the silver decorations.

Now I have to go out and find a new piece of flint. That’ll sure to be a piece of cake with about 2 feet of snow on the ground here. When I was a kid growing up in Michigan, it was everywhere. They even named a city for it… Here in Maine, I haven’t got a clue as to where to look. It sort of makes me sorry that I did the law abiding thing when I visited the National Park site at Alibates Flint Quarries down outside of Amarillo a few years ago. The First Peoples used those quarries for 13,000 years. The sign said that you shouldn’t take away pieces of the flint, so I didn’t. I struck a couple of sparks off of a piece, and put it back down.

And it looks like I ought to get out some of my metalworking gear and repair of that attachment ring. I like this too much to let it languish in a drawer.

One thought on “Fire Steel

Leave a Reply

