The Tarp-Tent Is Here!

True to her word, Miss Connie has completed the custom-made, 9 x 9 [+] Khaki silpoly2 tarp that we conspired together…

IMG_0544

 

It should be around 9’4″ square… haven’t measured.

14 edge tie-outs

4 ridge tie-outs + 4 corners

6 surface tie-outs

1′ long daisy-chain w/ 8 loops inside under ridge and the ridge is grosgrain taped end-to-end w/ tie-out loops

Total weight in bag w/ 9- 8″ aluminum gutter-spikes for tent-pegs…19.6 oz. [it stuffed down to fit perfectly in an old L.L. Bean para-foil kite bag that I had lying around, but I’ll need to figure out something to toss the spikes into]

I am totally impressed with how it came out,  and especially at how tiny it packs down. Miss Connie, being the fine clothing seamstress that she is, thinks it looks like a piece of crap; I, being a country geezer, I think that it’s going to do just fine.

I will need to string it up on a bright sunny day so I can run some seam seal along the ridge to prevent drip-through, and I need to scrub a bit of the gradooh off of the old gutter-spikes and give the top half of them a quick spray with some Day-Glo orange paint so they’re easier to see in low-light conditions… then I think we’re rock’n roll and waiting for good weather to do a trial pitch.

If I can find a couple of extra dollars, I plan on buying a package of these patent pull-out clips , and a couple of mini-reels of this Kevlar cord to use as guy-lines. Even without those gratuitous extras, I think this is going to be a tremendous upgrade to my camping gear. I can’t wait for a chance to try it out.

2 thoughts on “The Tarp-Tent Is Here!

  1. I also use aluminum gutter spikes for stakes, but I blunt the points with a hammer so that they don’t poke through my stake bags. I make simple stake bags out of 200d nylon since it wears a bit better than thin nylon.

    You might try gluing some tie outs to your silpoly with 100% clear silicone. You can use it straight or dilute it with odorless mineral spirits. I dilute 3 parts thinner to one part silicone for seam sealer and paint it on with a disposable foam paintbrush. To make the tie outs, cut a circle of silpoly about 3″ in diameter. Cut a strip of grosgrain about 5″ long for the tie out. I use 1/2″ or 3/4″ grosgrain. Make a slit in the center of the circle for the grosgrain loop to pass through. You can use a hot knife or singe the cut edges, but it’s going to be glued on, so it really doesn’t matter. You will need a flat surface for gluing and a weight to press the tie out patch on to the silpoly. It would be nice to have a wood block a bit larger than the tie out circle with a slot in the middle for the grosgrain loop to pass through. Otherwise, something heavy, but soft, like a sand bag or shot bag would be best. To make the tie out patch, pass the grosgrain loop through the slit until a loop about 1″ long sticks out. spread the two cut ends out so that they just touch the edge of the circle. Cut a piece of wax paper much larger than the tie out circle to keep the silicone from sticking to the weight. smear or paint the back of the circle with silicone covering the tops and bottoms of the grosgrain ends. Place the tie out patch on the tent fabric in the appropriate location and cover with wax paper. Place the weight over the patch and wait for the silicone to cure. This shouldn’t damage the tent fabric(insert disclaimer here) and the worst that should happen is that the patch might pull off, but silicone is good glue. It would help to sew the grosgrain ends to the circle, but it’s still a good idea to encase the ends in silicone. I would suggest making a test on a scrap piece of fabric first. I just finished a Gen1 silpoly tarp and will probably try this to make some mid panel tie outs. I have some uncoated 200d nylon that I might try for the circles. Since it’s uncoated, I should be able to saturate the fabric with silicone. It’s probably a good idea to wear throwaway gloves since this could get messy.

  2. Pingback: In Search of the Fabled Forester Tent | Moosenut Falls

Leave a Reply

