Cold Mountain Poems [from the Chinese]

mountain-306236_640

As for me, I delight
in the everyday Way,
among mist-wrapped
vines and rocky caves.
Here in the wilderness
I am completely free,
with my friends,
the white clouds, idling forever.
There are roads,
but they do not reach the world; since I am mindless,
who can rouse my thoughts?
On a bed of stone
I sit, alone in the night,
while the round moon
climbs up Cold Mountain.

– Han Shan

I first learned of the seventh century Chinese Buddhist hermit Han Shan through the brilliant translations by Gary Snyder, the Beat poet.  … I walk in both their footsteps every time I’m in the wild.

[Cold Mountain is not a place in space and time. Is the place inside yourself where enlightenment lingers, and longs to be discovered]

Leave a Reply

