Fidget Cube : Fidgetively Speaking … The Disappointing Finale

I am still in the running for the #lastdecemberstanding. We have gone through several updates with no solution to the shipping problems… and even the updates have been delayed beyond what could be considered acceptable.  I have become bored with the process. I am bored with the comment section. Following the KS comment page has turned into a pointless exercise that’s at least as frustrating as following politics. Nothing I say, do, or think is going to change anything. I had planned on doing a review on here of the clones versus the “real deal”.  I’m not going to bother anymore. Other people have pretty well saturated that niche. Who cares anymore? Each one of us likes what we like.

I am perfectly content with a couple of the clones that I purchased, and given all of the delays and frustration surrounding AntsyLabs failures to communicate and problems with shipping, I have absolutely no regrets at having gotten something to satisfy my needs in a more timely manner.

Now, my personal opinion is that the remaining December orders are lost in some kind limbo. I suspect they will simply be consigned to the March tier, and you will “get them when you get them”. I don’t expect AL to solve their problems for the remaining cube shipments.

I do continue to be puzzled with the fact that they somehow managed to send out 75% of their December tier orders in the last three weeks of January, and then could fail to ship the rest of them within the next five weeks.  Given that they have tens of thousands of units still to ship to March backers, this seems ridiculous, and doesn’t bode well for those still waiting. Sad Trombone…

On the upside… I was really pleased to see that so many of the large orders were intended for kids with autism and behavioral disorders. If AntsyLabs had kept better control of the details of their project, so that they had not been undercut by the clones, that alone would be a wonderful secondary market for substantial cube purchases. I took one of my clones with me to the dentist for my tooth cleaning yesterday. The hygienist asked to see it, fiddled with it, and said she’d have to see about getting a couple just to be able to hand them to people who were nervous in the dental chair. I doubt this was a type of market that ever entered AL’s mind until it came up in the comment section… pity they don’t seem to read the comment section.

 

 Enough…

Anyway, my bottom line is that I am no longer interested in following this project. I am outta here. This will be my last “Fidget Cube” post, and I’m going to close with two brief features.

The CUBE of the Future~ dreaming what it could be:

  • If the Breathe side would slide to extrude a USB memory plug from a cube edge, I’m sure it would make me the envy of the whole department.

    A “combination lock” spinning dial fidget on the Spin side. With a weight like the school locker spin dial locks. Would stick out more though... [these two from @RickyHaiku]

  • The luggage lock spinners should definitely unlock some added feature.
  • Bluetooth connectivity: all your fidgeting is recorded and statistically rendered on an odometer-style app for your phone. Every click, spin, wiggle down for posterity. Daily, weekly, monthly, lifetime statistics at your fingertips. You could try for 1 million button clicks in a month… The possibilities are endless.
  • Gyroscopic resistance/spin: there are already “exercise” balls available that do this.
  • “Fidget With A Friend”: your actions are BT mirrored on a friend’s cube.
  • A slot that would extrude single strips of bubblewrap to pop.
  • “Magnetic Levitation” over a base station for when you are not using it would be cool.

My Own “Dream” Cube~ [real (?) possibilities]:

  • The ability to engage/dis-engage the tactile feedback on the spinner wheel… Something in the form of click down/click up. I know a lot of people are enjoying the tactile feedback, however, one of the features I like on one of my clones is the complete “freewheeling” nature of the spinner. I can actually place it spinner side down, and twirl the entire cube.
  • Perhaps having three nubs on the face of the spinner wheel instead of a single one would let you twirl it more easily.
  • I would love it if the five buttons clicked up and down like a ballpoint pen.
  • Or if when initially pressed they would lock down, and you would press a different button to have the first pop back up.
  • The buttons definitely need to be rubberized; not made of hard plastic.
  • Having the joystick click up-and-down in addition to swiveling is an absolute “must-have”. Only one of the clones that I acquired does this… and when it is clicked down, the stick goes all floppy and loose. [Bad!]
  • I think the four corners of the meditation side could have individual textures like ridges or bumps and indentations. This would be a great addition for silent features.
  • One corner of the cube should have an indentation and a piercing to allow you to hook a key chain or cord.
  • The ball bearing should definitely be loose enough to spin in any direction, and absolutely must have the click feature. Again, there seems to be variation, even among the clones. Since this is my own dream cube, I would want to I have one position release the ball bearing enough that it would be able to free-wheel at a high speed.
  • The ball bearing could also be clicked to engage/disengage tactile feedback on the luggage-lock spinners. [this also would add to the silent features]
  • Barring that, perhaps only having the outer two luggage lock spinners have the feedback with the center one having some [but minimal] resistance. [and I want them to fit tightly enough that they don’t rattle]
  • On that point… The entire cube should not rattle if shaken!
  • The cube body should be made of one of the ABS materials like Delrin [not hard plastic], and the seams should all be tightly fitted.
  • More colors… Some of the clones already come in camo… The possibilities are endless.
  • And the popularity of the Limited edition G4mer cube shows that the use of more than one color for the features on any individual color cube would be really nice. The button side and the luggage locks spinners certainly just scream out for variation between the individual components.
  • A brass ball bearing and joystick would certainly look pissah on an ebony cube.
  • ABSOLUTE 100% QUALITY CONTROL SO THAT FEATURES ARE 100% STANDARDIZED ACROSS ALL UNITS !!! You shouldn’t make a purchase and discovered that the features on your unit are not the same as those others.

 

Just to close… Even with the prevalence of all the low-priced clones, I do not begrudge my $19 support pledge to AntsyLabs. THEY HAD A GREAT IDEA! My pledge was in within five minutes of seeing the post. They should, and have been, well rewarded.

Now, as the dolphins said just before the planet earth was destroyed by the Vogan constructor fleet, “So long… and thanks for all the fish”.

And as I say, “Onward Thru The Fog…”

~CIAO~

Leave a Reply

