One of Life’s Unanswerable Questions…

“Can a guy have too many hats…?”

If you bought this one, the answer is probably, “YES !”… Even at $6.85 US.

I am not a big fan of camo. I have one coat that is essentially a camo military BDU with a hooded sweatshirt liner. It’s a nice coat that only cost me about $15 at WallyWorld a few years ago. But it is a bit heavy to take along if you’re going camping. It’s also non-weatherproofed cotton, and so is prone to getting pretty soggy if it gets wet out. It does it have those great mil-spec pouch pockets that lets you stuff in a lot of gear, and there are upper, slash-pockets for your hands in addition to the big patch ones down lower. It’s a great coat in fall for just taking a meander in the woods since you can carry along so much just in the pockets… As long as somebody doesn’t mistake you for a deer. [Good Idea #1: Wear Orange in the Fall !!]

None of my actual camping/hammocking gear or tarps is in camo. Just not interested, and I like to be able to see my stuff when the light gets dim. It’s hard enough not tripping over my guy-lines.

However, for about that same $6.85 US, I did buy this nice, low crown, BDU-style cap in “fallen leaves” camo outta Sham Shui Po at some point in the past few years…  Cotton, with a full cotton top-lining, and a Velcro backstrap it was one of those deals that you would pay $30 for at a Cabela’s, or Bass Pro Shop… $23 bucks more… all for a sewn-in brand tag that cost $.13.

 

It fits nice and low on your head, so the brim provides really great shade. I broke it out this morning to sit in the sun out on the front porch and warm myself in the snow glare. Figgured it was worth showing… Then I found the “gillhie” hat and knew I had to do a post.

Totally Worthless Factoid: back when men still wore fedoras, “Looks like you need a new hat…” was Brooklyn slang for a twenty dollar bribe… 

 

[sorry, no link for my hat… Seems to no longer be offered]

 

 

Leave a Reply

