Got A New ‘Mock~~ not a camo… a Chameleon

I tried a couple times over the past few months to sell two of my hammock rigs. [Stop laughing! A lot of people I know I have at least 6 to 8 different hammocks]. I’m not sure I ever got around to putting up a post about either of these. They were both full setups… Hammock, net, tarp, suspensions. I liked them both. The thing was, that I didn’t really need either of them. I LOVE my Amok Draumr. Anyway, I put them both back up for sale a couple of weeks ago, and they both sold within 36 hours. I made a bit more back than I had in them.

My friend Dutch, of Dutchware, had just finished a $15,000 Kickstarter offering for another new style hammock. He ended up with over $200,000 in orders. I missed out on those early bird KS deals, but I was very much interested in getting one of his new “Chameleons”. I saw a couple of them back at the end of April down in Ashby, Massachusetts at a NEHHA Hang. He managed to get a lot of truly great features from a lot of other really great hammocks all condensed down into one unit. They are just a regular “banana” hammock, just really nicely kitted out. The only problem was, Dutch had so many orders already in hand that he isn’t ready to sell any Chameleons at retail yet.

Typical of so many people over on Hammock Forums, one guy ended up getting a KS Chameleon, saw a second great deal on a different hammock that he had really wanted for a long time, and decided to sell the Chameleon ASAP. I got it, together with an under quilt for an outrageously good price because he is already saved a bunch by getting in on the Kickstarter early. [He was in a hurry to make a deal to get his 2nd deal, so I ended up only paying about 70% of the retail for both the ‘mock and the UQ, plus this guy tossed in free shipping. The UQ is also brand-new, an untouchable deal even at its full retail, and something I had contemplated buying anyway. 20°F rated… he had gotten into go with the Chameleon]. I got what I wanted, he got what he wanted.

I had it shipped down to North Carolina instead of Maine because I knew I would be away for two weeks, and would be too excited to wait to see it. I had hoped to do a first hang up along the Blue Ridge Pkwy, or in the Great Smoky Mountains Park. However, it was too damp and drizzly most of the time we were up there. It never came out of the car trunk.  I did get a chance to set it up over at Morrow Mountain State Park, outside of Albemarle NC, over Memorial Day weekend. We were up at the top of the mountain, and the right-hand end there is pointing out to a 30 mile view.

I won’t bore you with details, you can look them up by checking out >> the Dutchware Kickstarter <<… Suffice it to say, it’s quite awesome.

[Oh, yeah. I had $.16 left on the dealz, and I fell asleep within 5 minutes]