Cooling Breezes

Last August down in Ashby, Massachusetts at a group hammock hang, we had temperatures in the 90°s and extremely high humidity. It made for really uncomfortable sleeping… Heck, just hanging around was HOT!

Our friend, R3l@x had kludged up a half dozen computer fans powered by 12v batteries, and gave them out. They were kinda wonky… you had to wrap a wire around one of the terminals to turn them on, but they were a lifesaver in the August heat. I got this little fan sometime/somewhere last fall, remembering how hideous the heat was in our rigs down at at Harold Parker SF and wanting a nicer, more convenient, solution.

This one runs off of a USB powerbank.

I also picked up a “gooseneck” m-f USB cable, so I could focus the breeze where needed.

I turned it on yesterday at 4pm powered by this small Choix charger. Running non-stop, it just gave out at 8:25pm… GoalZero claims 5 hours on their own charger, so that is not bad. The Choix is older tech and not all that powerful. It’s like a charge one cell phone once unit.
The fan moves a lot of air and, while you can hear it hum, it is very quiet. You can feel the breeze from over three feet away. Hung on a hammock ridgeline or in a tent, you should definitely get some relief from the heat.

One speed. From GoalZero. Looks like it will do the trick.
I’m going to try it out tomorrow on a newer powerbank and see if I get a longer run, but this is pretty satisfactory.

I checked on-line, unfortunately REI is not stocking ’em anymore. I think that was where I got mine. You can still find ’em on Amazon, but they are getting a bunch more than I remember spending. The gooseneck was 4$ on Amz.
If you are looking for a more low-cost [90%/50%] solution, Amz has this alternative, too>> https://www.amazon.com/ARCTIC-USB-Po…498MG732WQG84A

[After a bit more poking around online, it appears that GoalZero actually has them on their own site for considerably less than Amazon…]